Courses Offered:

A) Master's in Political Science [2 Years Degree]

The Masters programme, with an intake capacity of 85 students, offered by the department is intended to achieve twin objectives. The core courses are shaped to give thorough grounding to students in all core streams of subject Political Science. They include Political Thought and Theory, International Relations, Public Administration, Comparative Politics, Indian Political System, Politics of Jammu and Kashmir, Research Methodology. The students are also introduced into specialized areas of their own interest through a number of optional streams provided in the syllabi. These include International law, Foreign Policy of Major Powers, Indo-Pak Relations, Peace and Conflict Studies, Human Rights, Local Governance, State Politics in India, Contemporary Political Philosophy and Governance.

B) Master of Philosophy [M. Phil]

C) Doctor of Philosophy [PhD]